Varnashilpi Venkatappa Awards

Profile of recipients of 'Varnashilpi Venkatappa Awards'

Karnataka is home to one of the greatest painters who glorified our rich culture and heritage through their painting works. The govenment of Karnataka established Varnashilpi Venkatappa Award in the year 1993, in the name of the great painter late Varnashilpi Venkatappa to reward senior painters for their contributions in the field of art and paints. This award includes plaque, shawl, gardland and cash reward of Rs. 5 lakhs.

Sl No. Name Year
1. Dr. K K. Hebbar 1994
2. Shri. H .V. Halabhavi 1995
3. Shri. M. A. Chetty 1996
4. Shri. K .R. Tippeswamy 1997
5. Shri. R. M. Hadapad 1998
6. Shri .M .J. Shudhodana 1999
7. Shri. M. S. Chandrashekar 2000
8. Shri. S. S. Manoli 2001
9. Shri. J .S. Khanderao 2002
10. Shri. S. G. Vasudev 2003
11. Shri. Yusuf Arakkal 2004
12. Shri. Vijaya Sindhoor 2005
13. Shri. B. K. Hubli 2006
14. Shri. Shankargowda Bettadooru 2007
15. Shri. M. B. Patil 2008
16. Shri. V. G. Andani 2009
17. Shri. K. Chandranath Acharya 2010
18. Shri. V. B. Heregowdar, Davanagere 2011
19. Shri. U. Bhaskar Rao, Bangalore 2012
20. Shri. K .t. Shivprasad, Hassan 2013
21. Shri. V. T. Kaale, Bellari 2014
22. Shri. Peter Louis, Udupi 2015
23. Shri Mahaveer Rayappa Balikayi, Dharwad 2016
24. Shri Mahaveer Rayappa Balikayi, Dharwad 2017
25. Dr. C. Chandrashekar 2018


Last Updated: 10-02-2020 12:23 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations. The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion.


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
  • Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers.

  • Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080
CONTENT OWNED AND MAINTAINED BY : Dept. of Information and Public Relation |Kannada and Culture Dept.|Directorate of Economics and Statistics

For Help and suggestions Contact : Project Director, Web Portal, Centre for e-Governance Shantinagar Bangalore. Phone: 08022230060 e-mail:

Designed and Developed by: Center for e-Governance, Government of Karnataka ©2020, All Rights Reserved. Last Updated​ : 25-02-2020 05:12 PM Visitors Counter : 100548 Version : CeG/KRN 1.3